Home » Bass Lake » Free Legal Help Available for Creek Fire Disaster Survivors

Free Legal Help Available for Creek Fire Disaster Survivors

SACRAMENTO – Nov 13, 2020 – Free help with disaster-related legal concerns is available to eligible wildfire survivors in Fresno, Los Angeles, Madera, Mendocino, Napa, San Bernardino, San Diego, Shasta, Siskiyou and Sonoma counties.

These counties are covered in federal disaster DR-4569 for fires beginning Sept 4. This includes the Bobcat, Creek, El Dorado, Oak, Slater and Valley fires. The disaster was declared Oct. 16 and expanded later to include Napa and Sonoma counties for the Glass Fire and Shasta County for the Zogg Fire.

Survivors may seek no-cost aid with wildfire-related legal issues by calling the disaster legal services hotline at 888-382-3406. English- and Spanish-speaking attorneys will be available. Callers also may leave a message.

The program is a partnership between FEMA and the American Bar Association Young Lawyers Division.

Types of free legal assistance that may be available from a volunteer lawyer include:
• Help securing FEMA and other government benefits available to disaster survivors;
• Assistance with life, medical and property insurance claims;
• Help with home repair contracts and contractors;
• Replacement of wills and other important legal documents destroyed in the wildfires;
• Assisting in consumer-protection matters, remedies and procedures;
• Counseling on mortgage-foreclosure problems;
• Counseling on landlord-tenant problems;
• Referral to other attorneys and organizations for help with additional legal matters and
COVID-19 resources.

Free disaster legal services are not allowed for cases that will produce a monetary award.

The deadline to register with FEMA for DR-4569 disaster assistance is Dec. 16, 2020.

Legal aid is available at the same hotline for survivors of DR-4558, declared Aug. 22 and expanded later to offer aid to those who suffered losses in wildfires starting earlier that month in the counties of Butte, Lake, Lassen, Monterey, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma, Trinity, Tulare, and Yolo.

The deadline to register with FEMA for DR-4558 disaster assistance is Nov. 21, 2020.

For the latest information on wildfire recovery, visit https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4558, https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4569 and follow the FEMA Region 9 Twitter account at https://twitter.com/femaregion9.

All FEMA disaster assistance will be provided without discrimination on the grounds of race, color, sex (including sexual harassment), religion, national origin, age, disability, limited English proficiency, economic status, or retaliation. If you believe your civil rights are being violated, call 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585(TTY/TDD).

FEMA’s mission: Helping people before, during, and after disasters.

The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property.

For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955. TTY users may also call 800-877-8339. Applicants may also email disastercustomerservice@sba.gov or visit SBA at SBA.gov/disaster

Leave a Reply

Sierra News Online

Sierra News Online