Home » Community » Additional FEMA Help Approved for Nine California Counties

Additional FEMA Help Approved for Nine California Counties

SACRAMENTO – Additional help has been approved for nine California counties ravaged by the September/October wildfires.

The following assistance, approved Nov. 25, is added to the Oct. 16 presidential disaster declaration for the wildfire period Sept. 4 through Nov. 17, 2020:

• Del Norte County for Public Assistance, including direct federal assistance.

• Fresno, Madera, Mendocino, Napa, Shasta, Siskiyou, and Sonoma counties for debris removal (Category A) and permanent work (Categories C-G). These counties are already designated for Individual Assistance and emergency protective measures (Category B), including direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program.

• Yuba County for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B), including direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program.

FEMA’s PA program provides federal grant assistance to help communities quickly respond to and recover from major disasters or emergencies declared by the president.

An applicant is a nonfederal entity (a local, state, territorial or tribal government or an eligible private nonprofit organization) that applies for assistance under a federal award. Federal funds pay for not less than 75 percent of the eligible cost of emergency work and permanent work.

The PA program benefits everyone – neighborhoods, towns, cities, counties, states and their residents.

Funds are used for projects to renovate classrooms, refurbish hospitals, restore parks and repair public transportation systems so students can go to safe schools, doctors and nurses can provide medical care and families can enjoy the outdoors in public parks.

For the latest information on wildfire recovery, visit https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4569 and follow the FEMA Region 9 Twitter account at https://twitter.com/femaregion9.

All FEMA disaster assistance will be provided without discrimination on the grounds of race, color, sex (including sexual harassment), religion, national origin, age, disability, limited English proficiency, economic status, or retaliation. If you believe your civil rights are being violated, call 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585(TTY/TDD).

FEMA’s mission: Helping people before, during, and after disasters.

The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property.

For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955.

TTY users may also call 800-877-8339.

Applicants may also email disastercustomerservice@sba.gov or visit SBA at SBA.gov/disaster

Leave a Reply

Sierra News Online

Sierra News Online