Home » Community » Additional California Counties Eligible for FEMA Assistance
Image of a large tree uprooted by a severe rainstorm.
The recent severe weather caused large amounts of damage throughout the state. Fortunately, FEMA has just announced additional funding for California counties. Read on for more info!

Additional California Counties Eligible for FEMA Assistance

SACRAMENTO — Additional California counties affected by the severe winter storms, flooding, landslide, and mudslides that took place December 27, 2022, to January 31, 2023, are now eligible to apply for funding from FEMA’s Public Assistance program.

Image of the FEMA logo.The counties include Amador, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Inyo, Madera, Mariposa, Napa, Nevada, San Diego, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, and Tuolumne.

FEMA’s Public Assistance program provides reimbursement to local and state government agencies for the costs of emergency response, debris removal and restoration of disaster damaged public facilities and infrastructure. Houses of worship and certain nonprofit organizations may also be eligible.

Image of the California Office of Emergency Services logo. The program also encourages protection of these damaged facilities from future events by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during the recovery process.

The federal cost share for Public Assistance projects is 75 percent with 25 percent covered by the state or local governments.

For the latest information on California’s recovery from the severe winter storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides, visit FEMA.gov/disaster/4683.

You may also follow twitter.com/Cal_OES, facebook.com/CaliforniaOES, @FEMARegion9/Twitter and Facebook.com/FEMA.

Check out this short video on seven ways to survive natural disasters! 

Leave a Reply

Sierra News Online

Sierra News Online