Breaking News
Home » Yosemite » Yosemite Sites Added To National Register

Yosemite Sites Added To National Register

YOSEMITE – Fourteen properties in Yosemite National Park have recently been added to the National Register of Historic Places. The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation’s historic places worthy of preservation.

Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America’s historic and archeological resources.

These new listings include Yosemite’s High Sierra Camps and the historic Wilderness cabins. The High Sierra Camps include: Glen Aulin, May Lake, Merced Lake, Sunrise, Tuolumne Meadows, and Vogelsang High Sierra Camps. New listings of Wilderness cabins include Buck Camp Patrol Cabin, Frog Creek Cabin, Lake Vernon Snow Survey Shelter, Sasche Springs Snow Survey Shelter, Merced Lake Ranger Station and Snow Survey Cabin, Ostrander Lake Ski Hut, and the Snow Flat Ranger Station and Snow Survey Cabin.

In order to be listed, properties must embody qualities of significance in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering, or culture. Additionally, the property must retain its historic integrity through aspects of location, design, setting, feelings, association, materials, and workmanship that relate to its significance. Most often, properties also must be at least 50 years old.

All newly listed properties are associated with events that have made a significant contribution to the history of Yosemite. Each of the listed buildings is also notable for its distinctive rustic architectural character. They are officially recognized in the National Register of Historic Places as important in areas of conservation, science, education, recreation, and architecture.

Prior to this addition, Yosemite National Park had over 40 historic properties, comprising sites, objects, buildings, and districts listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The park is also home to five National Historic Landmarks: The Ahwahnee Hotel, Le Conte Memorial Lodge, Parsons Memorial Lodge, the Rangers’ Club and the Wawona Hotel & Thomas Hill Studio District.

Other individual historic properties include diverse resources such as the Camp 4 Historic Site, the El Portal School, and the Tioga Pass Entrance Station. Yosemite’s historic districts include Camp Curry and the Yosemite Valley Mariposa Grove Historic District, as well as several archeological districts, with many containing hundreds of individual contributing resources.

These places help reflect the historical, architectural, and cultural significance of Yosemite National Park. These new listings are a result of Yosemite’s ongoing efforts to identify new National Register properties, in keeping with the National Park Service’s role as the lead federal agency for managing and preserving our nation’s diverse heritage.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places please visit or

Leave a Reply

Sierra News Online

Sierra News Online