Home » Community » Submit Your Nomination For North Fork Citizen Of The Year
Tom Burdette has been appointed to the Madera County Planning Commission.

Submit Your Nomination For North Fork Citizen Of The Year

NORTH FORK – For the 40th year running, someone (or two) will join the ranks of past local luminaries when the town of North Fork bestows upon one of its own the title of “Citizen of the Year.”

The North Fork Boosters are accepting nominations through Monday, Jan. 28. Anyone can submit a nomination, with a letter expounding the virtues and contributions of their candidate.

The tradition began back in 1979, when the very first designee, Marilyn Coelho, was singled out as someone deserving of recognition. Since then, local residents are given the opportunity each year to nominate those among them who have made notable contributions to the town and its citizens.

All past winners are invited to participate in the selection of the new Citizen of the Year, gathering to vote for those they feel most worthy.

The Citizen of the Year Dinner is scheduled to take place at North Fork Town Hall on Saturday, Feb. 9. Doors open at 5:30 p.m. with a no host bar. Dinner will be served at 6 p.m., and is being prepared by 2017 Citizen of the Year Tom Burdette and his crew.

The dinner menu will include BBQ tri-tip, chicken, or vegetarian quiche, mixed peas & carrots, baked potato, salad, and Roz Thrapp’s homemade rolls. The North Fork Women’s club will be selling their famous desserts.

The awards ceremony begins at 7 p.m. The cost for dinner is $15.

For more information on how to submit your nomination contact North Fork Boosters President Cathey Thornburg at 559-676-7766.

Past winners of Citizen of the Year:

1979 Marilyn Coelho
1980 Grant Sturm
1981 Paul Barnes
1982 Jim Zizzo
1983 Bob Quick
1984 Tom Wheeler
1985 Betty Lyons
1986 Blaine Shultz
1987 Tom Hebrard
1988 Charles Coelho
1989 Tal Carter
1990 Jim and Dot Morris
1991 Elaine C. Fink
1992 Beverly Cole
1993 Paul Vining
1994 Tom Digilio
1995 Charles Harrington
1996 Lloree Knowles
1997 Mary Myers
1998 Frank Verduzco
1999 Mark and Cindy Swarts
2000 Chris Stanley
2001 Cathey Thornburg
2002 Loretta McKee
2003 Tammy Armstrong
2004 Kirk and Alice Koda
2005 Volney Dunavan
2006 Bill and Gretchen Choate
2007 Augie and Cindy Capuchino
2008 Viola Carr
2009 Dave Smith
2010 Joan Constable (aka Connie Carpenter)
2011 Vincent and Ginny Smith
2012 Hansel Kern
2013 Mark Logee
2014 Janet Wheeler
2015 Linda Gott-Maddox
2016 Al and Robyn Flory
2017 Tom Burdette

Leave a Reply

Sierra News Online

Sierra News Online