Home » Community » Senators Borgeas and Caballero Introduce Keep California Working Act to Help Small Businesses

Senators Borgeas and Caballero Introduce Keep California Working Act to Help Small Businesses

SACRAMENTO – Senator Andreas Borgeas (R-Fresno) and Senator Anna Caballero (D-Salinas) jointly introduced Senate Bill 74, otherwise known as the Keep California Working Act, which will invest $2.6 billion (10% of California’s projected surplus) in grants to help small businesses and employees that have sustained financial losses during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The bill includes an urgency clause so that it can take effect immediately upon approval.

“California’s businesses and employees have made tremendous sacrifices to protect the health of our communities,” said Senator Borgeas. “If the Governor is going to mandate businesses close, then they deserve a more aggressive investment in relief efforts. I am proud this measure already has broad bipartisan, bicameral support in the Legislature, and I look forward to working across the aisle with my colleagues to help local businesses.”

“Since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, businesses and their employees have continued to sustain our economy but have taken some serious hits,” said Senator Caballero. “We cannot ask that they continue to suffer loss without a swift and expedited plan to send relief their way. I look forward to working in a bipartisan manner to ensure that we do the right thing, and support our local small businesses and their employees.”

The bill has gained early bipartisan support, with 25 co-authors between the Senate and Assembly.

Senator Anna Caballero (D-Salinas) has joint authored the measure, and Senate co-authors include Senators Patricia Bates (R-Laguna Niguel), Shannon Grove (R-Bakersfield), Brian Jones (R-Santee), Jim Nielsen (R-Tehama), Melissa Melendez (R-Lake Elsinore), Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh (R-Yucaipa), and Scott Wilk (R-Santa Clarita).

Assembly co-authors include Assembly Members Frank Bigelow (R-O’Neals), Phillip Chen (R-Brea), Steven S. Choi (R-Irvine), Laurie Davies (R-Laguna Niguel), Heath Flora (R-Ripon), Vince Fong (R-Bakersfield), James Gallagher (R-Yuba City), Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella), Tom Lackey (R-Palmdale), Devon Mathis (R-Visalia), Janet Nguyen (R-Garden Grove), Jim Patterson (R-Fresno), Cottie Petrie-Norris (D-Laguna Beach), Kelly Seyarto (R-Murrieta), Thurston “Smitty” Smith (R-Apple Valley), Randy Voepel (R-Santee), and Marie Waldron (R-Escondido).

Senator Borgeas represents the 8th Senate District, which encompasses all or portions of Amador, Calaveras, Fresno, Inyo, Madera, Mariposa, Mono, Sacramento, Stanislaus, Tulare, and Tuolumne Counties. For additional information about Senator Borgeas, please visit his website at www.senate.ca.gov/borgeas or sign up for his monthly newsletter here

Senator Caballero represents the 12th Senate District, which includes the cities of Coalinga, Firebaugh, Fowler, Huron, Kerman, Kingsburg, Mendota, San Joaquin, Chowchilla, Madera, Atwater, Dos Palos, Gustine, Livingston, Los Banos, Merced, Gonzales, Greenfield, King City, Salinas, Soledad, Hollister, San Juan Bautista, Ceres, Newman, Patterson and portions of Modesto. For additional information about Senator Caballero, please visit her website at www.senate.ca.gov/caballero

Leave a Reply

Sierra News Online

Sierra News Online