Breaking News
Home » Community » Red Cross Opens Evac Center In Yosemite Valley For Ferguson Fire

Red Cross Opens Evac Center In Yosemite Valley For Ferguson Fire

MARIPOSA  — The American Red Cross of the Central Valley has opened an evacuation center to further accommodate those affected by the Ferguson Fire, located at Yosemite Valley Elementary School, 9009 Lost Arrow, in Yosemite Valley.

Evacuations have been ordered for Old El Portal, Yosemite View Lodge, Rancheria and Foresta communities.

The following Red Cross locations are open to assist anyone affected by wildfires:

  • Shelter – New Life Christian Fellowship, 5089 Cole Road in Mariposa
  • Evacuation Center – Yosemite Valley Elementary School, 9009 Lost Arrow, Yosemite National Park

Volunteers will be on hand to provide lodging, meals, water, hygiene items, and comfort for families affected by the evacuations, as well as provide a gathering place for residents to wait and receive important updates.

“Our volunteers are committed to make sure that every evacuated resident is safe and comfortable,” said Red Cross Executive Director Barry Falke, “We’ll be in this community providing relief for as long as there is a need.”

The Red Cross urges everyone to follow evacuation orders from local law enforcement and have an emergency kit ready go for any disaster including wildfires. Visit to learn more.

The Red Cross is able to provide disaster relief services during wildfire season thanks to the generosity of the community. The best way to help wildfire relief efforts is through a financial donation. Visit to make an online donation to your local chapter.


Follow the local Red Cross on Twitter and Facebook for additional updates. Visit their website at

Download the Red Cross Emergency App for preparedness information and shelter locations at your fingertips. Look for it in your app store, or text GETEMERGENCY to 90999.

About the American Red Cross Central California Region

The American Red Cross shelters, feeds and provides emotional support to victims of disasters; teaches lifesaving skills; provides international humanitarian aid; and supports military members and their families. The Red Cross is a charitable organization — not a government agency — and depends on volunteers and the generosity of the American public to perform its mission. The American Red Cross Central California Region provides services to the ten counties across Central California that is home to more than 4 million people. For more information, please visit


Leave a Reply

Sierra News Online

Sierra News Online