Home » Bass Lake » North Fork Chooses Its Citizen Of The Year

North Fork Chooses Its Citizen Of The Year

NORTH FORK – Janet Wheeler has been chosen as Citizen of the Year for 2014, and was honored at a dinner on Saturday, Feb. 21, at the Town Hall.

Janet is a Real Estate Broker at Century 21 Ditton Realty in North Fork, has been a leader in the community for many years, and has a reputation for being honest and fair in the real estate industry.

She has been involved with North Fork events for over 20 years, most recently serving as Vice President of the Boosters, handling the rentals for Town Hall, as well as spearheading the bar sales for events in which the Boosters are involved.

Janet has worked diligently on the Boosters’ main fundraiser, the annual Loggers Jamboree. Her daughter is a past Queen of the Jamboree and her grandson was Little Logger in 2012. She is always willing to give her time and go the extra mile to make community events successful.

Other nominees for Citizen of the Year, in the words of those who submitted their names anonymously:

Roger Robinette – If there is an event happening in North Fork, you will see Roger there, camera in hand, making memories. He has attended all the functions in North Fork for over a decade, and has taken millions of photos of North Fork, its events and its citizens. You see him with his camera at the Christmas Parade, Santa at Town Hall, Logger’s Jamboree, graduation, school dances, and pretty much any and all community events.

Roger offers free photos for the kids at the Buckhorn at Christmas. Plus, he does weddings and private photo shoots such as family portraits. Many of his photographs have appeared in Sierra News Online, the Sierra Star and the Yosemite Visitor’s Guide. Roger’s efforts throughout the years have helped preserve the many memories of this community.

Mark Logee Dan Rosenberg Ava Thiesen Roger Robinette Janet WheelerAva Theisen – Ava always gives more than she takes. With her kind words, she gives advice that is always from the heart, with no judgment towards anyone. No matter what the situation, she has a great outlook on the world and sees the best in everyone. Ava has a beautiful heart and soul, and always has a smile on her face.

Dan Rosenberg – Dan has been working tirelessly as president of the North Fork Community Development Council to bring business and provide leadership for the whole community. Because of his leadership, the mill site property is moving ahead, which is a great benefit for the whole town.

Last year’s winner, Mark Logee, acknowledged those who have been nominated over the years, but have declined the honor, citing their desire to serve in the background, out of the spotlight.

“Or maybe they’re just scared to death of cooking dinner for 150 people,” said Mark, referencing the responsibility of the winner for orchestrating the dinner the following year.

Mark and his wife Kathy, along with their two sons and daughter-in-law, prepared a pasta dinner accompanied by a salad bar of fresh greens from the Kern Family Farm. Hansel Kern was chosen top citizen in 2012.

Anyone can nominate a candidate for this award, and the winner is chosen by a vote of the past winners.

The North Fork community has been honoring one of their own for 36 years, and the following names will be recognized by the residents as those who always show up to lend a hand.

Past Winners –

1979 Marilyn Coelho
1980 Grant Sturm
1981 Paul Barnes
1982 Jim Zizzo
1983 Bob Quick
1984 Tom Wheeler
1985 Betty Lyons
1986 Blaine Shultz
1987 Tom Hebrard
1988 Charles Coelho
1989 Tal Carter
1990 Jim and Dot Morris
1991 Elaine C. Fink
1992 Beverly Cole
1993 Paul Vining
1994 Tom Digilio
1995 Charles Harrington
1996 Lloree Knowles
1997 Mary Myers
1998 Frank Verduzco
1999 Mark and Cindy Swarts
2000 Chris Stanley
2001 Cathey Thornburg
2002 Loretta McKee
2003 Tammy Armstrong
2004 Kirk and Alice Koda
2005 Volney Dunavan
2006 Bill and Gretchen Choate
2007 Augie and Cindy Capuchino
2008 Viola Carr
2009 Dave Smith
2010 Joan Constable (aka Connie Carpenter)
2011 Vincent and Ginny Smith
2012 Hansel Kern
2013 Mark Logee

Leave a Reply

Sierra News Online

Sierra News Online