Breaking News
Home » Oakhurst » Honorary Mayor Candidates Cooking At Queen's Inn

Honorary Mayor Candidates Cooking At Queen's Inn

OAKHURST – Ready, set, go!

The 2015 Honorary Mayor’s Race begins officially on Friday, Apr. 17 at 5 p.m. when currently presiding mayor Mat Sands invites the community to meet the candidates for an evening of glad-handing, fun, food, music, and more, at Queen’s Wine Bar & Beer Garden by the River.

Guests who pay at the door will have the treat of hearing live music from Dave Henderson. With donation to a cause, folks can indulge in a mini-meal prepared by the candidates themselves. That’s dedication!

Honorary Mayor Mat Sands 2014-15For this premiere event, a $5 donation at the door gets split between the worthy and hard-working candidates, soon to be announced. In addition, the chef-candidates will offer dinner in exchange for a donation to their campaign. Come hungry!

How does the Oakhurst Honorary Mayor Campaign work? Each candidate raises money for their favorite non-profit organization. Each dollar raised during the campaign counts as a vote, and the candidate with the most votes wins the title and duties of the Honorary Mayor of Oakhurst.

Sands hopes his supporters will turn out to help celebrate his productive year as Honorary Mayor, and welcome the new candidates who will compete for the title.

Honorary Mayor Organizers of the event, sponsored by the Eastern Madera County Chamber of Commerce Foundation and the Oakhurst Area Chamber of Commerce, say the campaign will run from Friday, Apr. 17 through Saturday, June 27.

Queen’s Inn Wine Bar & Beer Garden opens at 4 p.m. and dinner will be available starting at 5:30 p.m. Live music begins at 6:30 p.m. and ends at 10 p.m.

Past Honorary Mayors:

2014 Mathew Sands
2013 Brian Gearhart
2012 John K. Burton
2011 Rima Runtzel
2010 John K. Burton
2009 Brian Gearhart
2008 Laura Bean
2007 J. Carol Graham
2006 Brian Gearhart
2005 Mary Lou Finley
2004 Monika Moulin
2003 Sonia Crane
2002 Earlene Keller
2001 Toni Lagunoff
2000 Dennis Fairbanks
1999 Matt Walker
1998 Bob LeBelle
1997 John Hays
1996 Gary Pence

Leave a Reply

Sierra News Online

Sierra News Online